



Spring Tea and Annual Meeting Friday, May 12, 4-6 pm Bethlehem Lutheran Gathering Space 2390 North Road

Join us for an afternoon of fun, socializing, and tempting treats. After our annual meeting, we'll hear from two guest speakers. Andrea Fellows Walters will talk about her work as Education Director for the Santa Fe Opera, and Christine St. Vrain-Fischahs, recipient of an AAUW-NM scholarship to attend this year's National Conference of College Women Student Leaders (NCCWSL, aka "nick-whistle") will introduce herself. She is a student at UNM-LA.

Mark your calendars - and bring a friend to our year-end celebration.

## **Branch News**

#### Election of Council Members for 2017-2019

Our nominating chair, Harriet Dodder, and her committee present the following slate:

Mary Ann Lindahl Marilyn Doolen Bev Cooper Carol Neal Margaret Gibson

Mary Ann and Marilyn are current Council members and will be running for additional 2-year terms. Bev, Carol, and Margaret will be running for their first 2-year term.

Harriet Dodder will also be on the ballot for a second 2-year term as nominating chair. The election will be held at the annual Spring Tea. Denise George, Cas Mason, Betsy Comly and Mona Wecksung will remain on the Council for the 2<sup>nd</sup> year of their terms.

**Bylaws again, you ask?** Yes! A vote will be taken to approve our revised bylaws at the annual Spring Tea. Because of the complexity of the NM State Nonprofit Corporation Act, we had to revise our branch bylaws. The final version was composed by the bylaws committee of Betsy Comly, Marilyn Doolen, and Maryjane Giesler, with suggestions from Judy Prono, Denise George, and AAUW state advisors. It received an affirmative vote of Council, and it will be posted on our Branch website two weeks before the meeting. You will receive an email when the revised bylaws are posted. Much work went into composing a version that is flexible, and satisfies the state requirements. We hope it will not need changing for a long time! The required changes will be printed green. Please look over the document when it is posted and be prepared to vote at the Tea.

#### **Book Group**

The May book is <u>The Improbability of Love</u> by Hannah Rothchild. Marilyn Thayer will review the book at both meetings.

\* On Monday May 1, 7:30 pm, readers will meet at Doris Lodwig's, 79 Mesa Verde. Let Doris know if you are coming (lodwigd@comcast.net, 412-1931).

\* On Tuesday, May 2, 1:00 pm, Mona Wecksung, 161 El Corto will host. Please let Mona know if you are coming (662-7084, <u>wecksung2005@msn.com</u>).

#### Nonfiction Book Group

The next meeting will be on May 22, at 7:30 pm. We will discuss <u>The Hidden Figures</u> by Margot Lee Shetterley; Helena Whyte will review. Betsy Comly, 235 Kimberly, will host; let Betsy know if you are coming (672-1574, jack\_comly@msn.com).

#### **Great Decisions**

\* The Morning Great Decisions group meets on the second and fourth Mondays at 10 am at Mesa Public Library. Check the branch <u>website</u> for the latest information.

\* The Evening Great Decisions schedule is also posted on the <u>website</u>.

#### Science Fair

The thank you mail keeps coming from the Science Fair awardees:

 5<sup>th</sup> grade Aspen Elementary-"we want to say thank you for the award...we appreciate your support. We use any winnings to help fund next year's science class projects" Signed with 43 signatures, hearts, smiles, including "Siena says hi."

- A personal note from Matthew Nowell: "Thank you for supporting the LA County Science Fair....and the award I received from you... I worked very hard on this project. You motivated me to always do my best work..."
- Barranca Elementary class; "I liked going green" and "I liked saving the earth" with hand-drawn pictures of trees and smiling people.

## **National News**

Online voting for AAUW national positions has begun (April 17). Your member number and your voter PIN are on the back of the Spring 2017 issue of *Outlook*, highlighted in yellow. You should also have received an email from national containing your voter PIN. Save your PIN.

Go to the AAUW homepage (<u>www.aauw.org</u>) to vote. Click on VOTE NOW; enter voter PIN and member number. Select one candidate for board chair, one candidate for vice-chair, and 10 for director. Council endorses Julia Brown, New Mexico, for board chair; will speak at the April state convention.

## **Branch Calendar**

| May | 1,2 | Book Group            |
|-----|-----|-----------------------|
| May | 12  | Spring Tea            |
| May | 22  | Nonfiction Book Group |

| Marilyn Doolen      | Co-Facilitator/Publicity  | 672-3571 | mtdoolen@aol.com          |
|---------------------|---------------------------|----------|---------------------------|
| Betsy Comly         | Co-Facilitator/Publicity  | 672-1574 | jack comly@msn.com        |
| Mona Wecksung       | Treasurer                 | 662-7084 | wecksung2005@msn.com      |
| Maryjane Giesler    | University Representative | 662-5574 | mgiesler@unm.edu          |
| Cas Mason           | Secretary                 | 672-1938 | casmason01@msn.com        |
| Judy Prono          | Program/Public Policy     | 662-2691 | djprono@msn.com           |
| Denise George       | Newsletter/Webmaster      | 672-9688 | denisegeorge@icloud.com   |
| Mary Ann Lindahl    | Membership                | 663-0995 | moonbeamx@comcast.net     |
| Roz Newmyer         | At-large                  | 672-1994 | for1994@msn.com           |
| Appointed positions |                           |          |                           |
| Helena Whyte        | STEM                      | 672-9153 | mozden08@aol.com          |
| Marilyn Minshall    | Historian                 | 672-3499 | mjminshall@q.com          |
| Nancy Nunnelley     | Hospitality               | 662-4950 | nrn1063@msn.com           |
| Harriet Dodder      | Nominating Chair          | 662-7473 | harrietdodder@comcast.net |

# **Coordinating Council for 2016-17**