

Hilltopics

Kristy Nadler Panel Discussion Violence Against Women on Campus Thursday, October 25, 7:00 pm to 9:00 pm Jeanette Wallace Room, Bldg 5, UNM-LA

Kristy Nadler has been awarded a grant from The Department of Justice Office of Violence Against Women to create a campus program for UNM-LA to Reduce Sexual Assault, Domestic Violence, Dating Violence and Stalking. The requirements of the grant are to encourage a coordinated community approach to enhance victim safety, provide services for victims and support efforts to hold offenders accountable. Kristy is lecturer in general studies at UNM-LA.

Book Group

The October book is <u>The Music Shop</u> by Rachel Joyce.

On Monday, October 1st, at 7:00 pm, we will meet at Angela Coop's, 332 Aragon. (672-1073, acwalkercoop@yahoo.com).

On Tuesday, October 2nd, at 1:00 pm, the meeting is at Rozelle White's, 213 Barranca (662-5490, rozelle@losalamos.com).

Let the hostess know if you are coming. Guests are welcome to attend all book group meetings.

The Schedule for 2018-2019 is posted on our web site and can be found under the study group tab. The direct link is:

https://losalamos-nm.aauw.net/files/2018/08/2018-2019-Schedule-copyDenise.pdf

Nonfiction Book Group

The next meeting will be on October 22 at 7:00 pm. The book is <u>Clementine</u>, by Sonia Purnell. Carol Neal will lead the discussion. Nina Thayer will host the meeting at her home, 1707 Solana. Please let Nina know if you will be attending the meeting (662-6835, <u>nthayer@cybermesa.com.</u>)

Unpaid Dues?

If you are not certain that you paid your AAUW dues this year, contact Margaret Gibson, branch treasurer at mfgibson1943@yahoo.com or 672-3609. You can pay on-line by credit card at http://www.aauw.org, or mail your check (\$87) to AAUW, P.O. Box 272, Los Alamos. If dues are not received after receipt of this reminder, members' names will be removed from the membership directory and the mailing list.

AAUW-NM Supports Constitutional Amendment 2: An Independent Ethics Commission

On the November ballot, New Mexicans will have the opportunity to approve Amendment 2, adding a new section to the NM Constitution to establish an independent 7-member Ethics Commission. For twenty years, AAUW NM Public Policy Action Priorities have called for "ethics reform including creation of a state ethics commission". A joint resolution passed by the 2017 legislature asks voters to approve a NM Ethic Commission with the following provisions:

(1) Jurisdiction over elected and appointed officials, state employees, candidates for state offices, state contractors and lobbyists in the executive and legislative branches of NM government,

(2) Membership of 7 commissioners, The governor, president pro tem of the Senate, Senate minority leader, speaker of the House and House minority leader would each appoint one commissioner—for a total of five commissioners. The last two commissioners would be appointed by the four commissioners appointed by the legislative leaders such that no more that 3 are from the same party,

(3) Resources and training to foster ethical behavior and prevent ethics violations,

(4) Investigation of all ethics complaints in a timely manner via authorized procedures,

(5) The power of subpoena to require attendance of witnesses or production of records or other relevant evidence, and

(6) Adjudication of civil complaints and forwarding of possible criminal complaints to the appropriate agencies.

New Mexico is one of only 7 states without an ethics commission. New Mexicans deserve a fair, transparent process for handling ethics complaints.

VOTE YES ON AMENDMENT 2

Branch Calendar

Oct	1,2	Book Group
Oct	3	Candidate Forum
Oct	6	Council meeting, 2pm, Carol Neal's, 3451 Urban
Oct	22	Nonfiction Book Group
Oct	25	October meeting

Branch Council 2018-2019

Alahna Weller	Co-Facilitator	672-9539	acweller@comcast.net			
Carol Neal	Co-Facilitator	662-7256	the neals@prodigy.net			
Marilyn Doolen	Secretary	672-3571	mtdoolen@aol.com			
Bev Cooper	Publicity	672-9696	bcooper@cybermesa.com			
Maryjane Giesler	University Representative	662-5574	mgiesler@unm.edu			
Margaret Gibson	Membership/Treasurer	672-3609	mfgibson1943@yahoo.com			
Denise George	Newsletter/Webmaster	672-9688	denisegeorge@icloud.com			
Appointed positions						
Helena Whyte	STEM	672-9153	mozden08@aol.com			
Marilyn Minshall	Historian	672-3499	mjbminshall237@q.com			
Mary Ann Lindahl	Hospitality	660-2259	moonbeamx@comcast.net			
Nina Thayer	Public Policy	662-6835	gnthayer@cybermesa.com			
????	Nominating Chair					