

Spring Tea and Annual Meeting Friday, May 10, 2:30-4:30 pm Bethlehem Lutheran Gathering Space 2390 North Road



Join us for an afternoon of fun, socializing, and tempting treats. After our annual meeting, we'll hear from guest speaker, Heather McClanahan, the past executive director of the Los Alamos Historical Society. Among many of the high points of her distinguished career she will discuss the acquisition of the Oppenheimer house and plans for its future. She is enthusiastic about the association of the Historical Society with the Manhattan Project National Park and will discuss the concomitant challenges and opportunities.

Bring a friend to our year-end celebration.

Branch Elections

Election of council officers for the 2 year term, 2019-2021, will occur at the spring tea. The slate of officers is:

Terry Marzili Bev Cooper Margaret Gibson Carol Neal

Officers returning to the council for the second year of their 2-year term are:

Mary Jane Giesler Denise George Alahna Weller

Appointed officers are: Mary Ann Lindahl – hospitality Marilyn Minshall – historian Helena Whyte – STEM

There is a place for two more council members and the branch needs a Nominations Chair.

Branch Scholarship

During the business meeting, the coordinating council will present to the membership a proposal to create a branch scholarship at UNM-LA for a nontraditional female student. The proposal is summarized at the end of this newsletter.

Branch Dues Increase

After careful reading of our by-laws, the vote to increase dues must occur at our fall luncheon.

New Member

Welcome our new member, Sarah Michalak, 695-3538, sarah87544@gmail.com.

Book Group

The May book is <u>Homegoing</u> by Yaa Gyasi. Karen Henderson will review at both meetings. On Monday, May 6, 7:00pm, we will meet at Linda McLellan's, 422 Connie, (672-9602, lindamclellan@msn.com). Please RSVP to the host. On Tuesday, May 7, 1:00pm, we will meet at Christine Cloyd's, 1841 Cooper Ave, (500-8192, danielc857@aol.com). Please RSVP to the host.



Nonfiction Book Group

The next meeting will be on May 20 at 7:00pm. The book is <u>The Feather Thief</u>, by Kirk Wallace Johnson. Rozelle Wright will lead the discussion. Chris Sierk will host the meeting. Please let Chris know if you will attend (<u>acsierk@hotmail.com</u>, 662-3894).

Afternoon Great Decisions 2019 Schedule

May 9, 1:30 pm, WRPL, Carroll Thomas, U.S. and Mexico (7).

May 23, 1:30 pm, MPL, group, Nuclear negotiations (3).

Contact Denise at <u>denisegeorge@icloud.com</u> or 672-9688.

Evening Great Decision 2019 Schedule

Date/Time	Topic	Hostess/Leader	
5/2/19	2 The	Beverly Cooper	
7:00 pm	Middle East	521 Ridgecrest Ave., WR	
		672-9696	
5/16/19	1 Refugees	Marilyn Minshall	
7:00 pm	and Global	536 Brighton Drive, WR	
_	Migration	672-3499	

Contact Helena at mozden08@aol.com or 672-9153

2019-2020 Dues: Membership dues for the coming year are due to national by July 1, 2019 Please make your treasurer's day by paying at the Spring Tea, or by sending a check now, or by paying online. Of the \$59.00 National Dues, \$56.00 is tax deductible.

MEMBERSHIP	TOTAL AMOUNT DUE	NATIONAL DUES	STATE DUES	BRANCH DUES
CATEGORY				
Regular Member	\$87.00	\$59.00	\$18.00	\$10.00
Paid Life Member	\$28.00	\$0.00	\$18.00	\$10.00
Dual Member not NM	\$28.00	\$0.00	\$18.00	\$10.00
Dual Member NM	\$10.00	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$10.00
Honorary Life Member	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$0.00	\$0.00

You may pay online at http://www.aauw.org/membership/join-renew/
Or fill out the Payment Coupon and mail to:

AAUW Treasurer, PO Box 272, Los Alamos, NM 87544

PAYMENT COUPON				
Enclosed please find my check in the amount of \$				
My membership category is Regular/ Life /Dual NM/Dual not NM (Please circle one category)				
Name:				
Address:				
City: State: Zip Code:				
Daytime Phone Number:	Evening Phone Number:			
E-Mail:	Mobile Phone:			



Hilltopics

Los Alamos AAUW Scholarship Proposal

What is it?

An annual scholarship for a nontraditional female student at UNM-LA.

The scholarship will be for one year.

The student must be enrolled in a minimum of 8 credit hours.

The amount of the award will be \$1000.00.

How does it work?

UNM-LA will provide our branch committee with a maximum of three candidates, the committee will make the final decision.

The committee members are Maryjane Giesler, Mona Wecksung and Marilyn Doolen.

Student services will inform the student body of this scholarship.

Finances will be managed by the UNM Foundation; all contributions are tax deductible and all contributions go directly to the student (the Foundation does not charge a management fee).

Why should we do this?

UNM-LA serves the local community.

The university administration reports that there is a great need for a non-restrictive scholarship (no requirement as to major, marital status, nationality or NM residency).

Establishing a connection with UNM-LA and AAUW-LA will benefit both organizations.



Hilltopics

Branch Calendar

May	2	Great Decisions – Evening group
May	9	Great Decisions – Afternoon group
May	6,7	Book groups
May	10	Spring Tea
May	16	Great Decisions – Evening group
May	20	Non-fiction Book Group
May	23	Great Decisions – Afternoon group

Branch Council 2018-2019

Brunen Council 2010 2017						
Alahna Weller	Co-Facilitator	672-9539	acweller@comcast.net			
Carol Neal	Co-Facilitator	662-7256	the neals@prodigy.net			
Marilyn Doolen	Secretary	672-3571	mtdoolen@aol.com			
Bev Cooper	Publicity	672-9696	bcooper@cybermesa.com			
Maryjane Giesler	University Representative	662-5574	mgiesler@unm.edu			
Margaret Gibson	Membership/Treasurer	672-3609	mfgibson1943@yahoo.com			
Denise George	Newsletter/Webmaster	672-9688	denisegeorge@icloud.com			
Appointed positions						
Helena Whyte	STEM	672-9153	mozden08@aol.com			
Marilyn Minshall	Historian	672-3499	mjbminshall237@q.com			
Mary Ann Lindahl	Hospitality	660-2259	moonbeamx@comcast.net			
Nina Thayer	Public Policy	662-6835	gnthayer@cybermesa.com			
????	Nominating Chair					