

Hilltopics



The Spring Branch Meeting Featuring Representative Christine Chandler Thursday, May 6, 7pm

Hear Christine's summary of the 2021 Legislative Session: successes, failures, compromises, hopes for next year's session. Bring your questions.

The business meeting will follow and will include installation of officers for the 2021-2022 council.

An invitation to attend the Zoom meeting will be sent to all branch members a few days before the meeting. Visitors are welcome; they should send a request for an invitation to <u>AAUWLA@icloud.com</u>.

Roundhouse Report

Two bills supported by AAUW were signed by the governor: HB20 the Healthy Workplaces Act and SB 304 the Redistricting Act. AAUW urged members to write our governor to express support for these bills, and it is possible that our actions influenced her decision.

AAUW's annual election ends May 17.

Be sure to vote.

Book Group

Both May Zoom meetings will be hosted by Rozelle Wright. All group members will receive meeting invitations to both meetings. Other branch members who wish to be invited should contact Karin Roberts, <u>karinroberts875@icloud.com</u>, to be added to the group mailing list. Evening meetings are on the first Monday of the month at 7pm. The daytime group meets the following Tuesday at 1pm. The May book is <u>Unmarriageable</u> by Sonia Kamal. Marilyn Thayer will lead the discussions. The dates for the meetings are May 3rd and 4th.

A complete schedule is under the **study group** tab of our website at: <u>2020-2021 Book Group Schedule</u>.

Please bring suggestions for our summer book to the meeting.

Nonfiction Book Group

The next Zoom meeting is July 26, 7pm. The book is <u>Caste</u> by Isabel Wilkerson. Denise George will lead the discussion.

Great Decisions

The remaining meeting topic is *The Two Koreas*; the meeting will be scheduled at Carroll Thomas's (the discussion leader) convenience.

Branch Scholarship

The branch collected over \$1000 last year to fully fund our scholarship. The Scholarship winner of the 2020-2021 AAUW/UNM-LA Scholarship was Althea Denlinger, who is a Computer Science major. She has just been awarded a prestigious \$8000.00 scholarship. We are looking forward to being able to help an equally promising scholar for the 2021-2022 academic year. Please consider making a contribution. Make out your check to, **University of New Mexico Foundation** and write in the memo line. for UNM-Los Alamos AAUW Scholarship. Mail it to: Margaret Gibson 120 Rover Blvd White Rock, NM 87547.

NCWSSL

Deanna Meyer-Lamas won an AAUW-NM scholarship that covers the registration cost of attending the 2021 virtual NCCWSL Conference.

Deanna is a student at UNM-LA, and has been accepted to Anderson School of Business at UNM main campus.

Dues

Dues should be paid by July, 2021. For most of us, dues are \$100. If you are a life member you will owe \$38. State dues are \$18. Branch dues are \$20. AAUW National Individual Membership dues are now \$62: \$59 is tax deductible as a charitable contribution, and \$3 is not (because it supports the AAUW Action Fund's Section 501(c)(4) Lobby Corps and get-out-the-vote activities).

You may pay electronically. If you prefer to pay by check, make it out to: AAUW-Los Alamos Branch and mail to: Margaret Gibson 120 Rover Blvd White Rock, NM 87547

Calendar

| May 3,4 | Book Group: | |
|---------|----------------|--|
| May 6 | Branch Meeting | |

Coordinating Council 2020-2021

| Alahna Weller | Facilitator | 672-9539 | acweller@comcast.net |
|---------------------|-----------------------------------|---------------------------------------|------------------------------|
| | The duties of facilitator will be | | |
| | shared among the council members | | |
| Carol Neal | Secretary | 662-7256 | the_neals@prodigy.net |
| Bev Cooper | Publicity | 672-9696 | <u>bcooper@cybermesa.com</u> |
| Maryjane Giesler | University Representative | 662-5574 | mgiesler@unm.edu |
| Margaret Gibson | Membership/Treasurer | 672-3609 | mfgibson1943@yahoo.com |
| Denise George | Newsletter/Webmaster | 672-9688 | denisegeorge@icloud.com |
| Judy Prono | Public Policy | 662-2691 | djprono@msn.com |
| Appointed positions | | · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · | |
| Helena Whyte | STEM | 672-9153 | mozden08@aol.com |
| Marilyn Minshall | Historian | 672-3499 | mjbminshall237@q.com |
| Mary Ann Lindahl | Hospitality | 662-0995 | moonbeamx@comcast.net |
| Nina Thayer | Nominating Chair | | |