



Spring Tea and Annual Meeting Friday, May 12, 4:00-5:30 pm Bethlehem Lutheran Gathering Space 2390 North Road

- *Come for an afternoon of fun, socializing, and tempting treats.
- *Meet our 2022-2023 scholarship winner Sara Louise Lujan. She will share her educational path and career aspirations.
- *Hear a Tech Trek update.
- *Honor the Council members leaving the Coordinating Council after serving for six years.

Carol Neal

Margaret Gibson

Bev Cooper

*Elect our Coordinating Council for the 2023-2024 year.

The slate of candidates is:

Linda McLellan

Carroll Thomas

Judy Prono

Members returning to the Coordinating Council for the second year of their 2-year term are:

Maryjane Giesler

Mary Ann Lindahl

Alahna Weller

Marilyn Doolen

Denise George

Appointed positions are:

Publicity – Bev Cooper

STEM -- Helena Whyte

Hospitality – Nina Thayer

Book Group

The May book is <u>The Dictionary of Lost Words</u> by Pip Williams. Chris Sierk will host the Monday, May 1st, 7pm meeting at her home, 4640 Ridgeway Dr. Linda McLellan will be the discussion leader. Please let Chris know if you are coming, (505-660-8620, acsierk@hotmail.com.)

Marilyn Thayer will host the May 2nd, 1pm meeting at her home, 505 Oppenheimer #810 and will lead the discussion; let her know if you are coming (505-662-9785, marilynt@oldhundred.org)

Nonfiction Book Group

On July 17, the group will meet to discuss <u>Dinners</u> with <u>Ruth</u> by Nina Totenberg. Helena Whyte will lead the discussion. If you wish to join the group, please contact Margaret Gibson (mfgibson332@gmail.com, 505-228-4356).

Great Decisions

This study group will resume next year. Sign up at the fall luncheon to join us for a series of discussions on Foreign Policy issues

AAUW Dues: National expects dues to be received by July 1.

AAUW National Individual Membership dues are now \$72:

\$69 is tax deductible as a charitable contribution, and \$3 is not (because it supports the AAUW Action Fund's Section 501(c)(4) Lobby Corps and get-out-the-vote activities).

State dues are \$18

Branch are \$20

If you are a life member you will owe \$38. Otherwise, the total is \$110.

You may have received an e-mail from National explaining how to pay electronically.

If you prefer to pay by check, make it out to:

AAUW-Los Alamos Branch

Bring it to the Spring Tea and give it to our treasurer, Mary Ann Lindahl or mail to:

AAUW-Los Alamos

P.O. Box 272

Los Alamos, NM 87544

AAUW-Los Alamos Scholarship at UNM-Los Alamos:

We hope the Branch will be able to offer a scholarship for the 2023-2024 academic year to a deserving woman who is returning to school after some years (that is, not a "just graduated from high school" woman) and who is enrolled at UNM-Los Alamos. We are asking branch members to make a tax-deductible donation by writing a check to:

University of New Mexico Foundation

and noting in the memo line,

for AAUW-Los Alamos scholarship at UNM-LA.

If you wish donate at a time other than Spring Tea, please send a check written as instructed above mail it to our P.O. Box:

AAUW-Los Alamos. P.O. Box 272

Los Alamon, NM 87547

Any checks donated at the Spring Tea or sent to the P.O. Box will be hand-delivered to the business manager at UNM-Los Alamos.

Calendar

May 1,2	Book Group	
May 12	Branch Meeting	

Coordinating Council 2022-2023

Carol Neal	Co-Facilitator	505-662-7256	the neals@prodigy.net
Judy Prono	Co-Facilitator/Public Policy	505-662-2691	djprono@msn.com
Margaret Gibson	Secretary	505-672-3609	mfgibson332@gmail.com
Alahna Weller	Membership	505-672-9539	acweller@comcast.net
Bev Cooper	Publicity	505-672-9696	bcooper@cybermesa.com
Maryjane Giesler	University Representative	505-662-5574	mgiesler@unm.edu
Marilyn Doolen	Diversity, Equity, Inclusion/Historian	505-672-3571	mtdoolen@aol.com
Mary Ann Lindahl	Treasurer	505-660-2259	moonbeamx@comcast.net
Appointed			
positions			
Helena Whyte	STEM	505-672-9153	mozden08@aol.com
Nina Thayer	Hospitality		gnthayer@cybermesa.com
Denise George	Newsletter/WEB	505-690-3534	denisegeorge@icloud.com
Open	Nominating		