

Hilltopics



Spring Tea and Annual Meeting Friday, May 10, 4:00-5:30 pm Bethlehem Lutheran Gathering Space 2390 North Road

We will elect new Council members, honor outgoing members, hear from our UNM-LA scholarship winner, and enjoy refreshments provide by Council members.

We will recognize six members who have achieved Honorary Life Member status for 50 years of membership in AAUW. These members are Adda Moldt, Judy Crocker, Nina Thayer, Mona Wecksung, Helena Whyte and Karin Roberts.

Helena Whyte will give us a Tech Trek report. The camp welcomed 52 campers from 50 districts, and contributions from our un-Tea were over \$3,000, enough to fund two campers.

We will hear the Fire Book Project report.

We will have laptops available for members who would like to vote in AAUW's national election. You will need to bring your voter ID and Password that were emailed to you in April.

Please RSVP to Nina Thayer (gnthayer@cybermesa.com, 505-231-6312). Guests are welcome.

Branch Council Slate

Members returning for their second year of a twoyear term:

Judy Prono

Linda McLellan

Carroll Thomas

Candidates for new two-year terms:

Denise George

Bev Cooper

Nina Thayer

Mary Ann Lindahl

Branch Council Candidates Needed

Council needs new blood, and there is room for two more members. This coming year, continuing members will fill major Council positions (except for hospitality). Council is looking for at-large members who would be responsible for attending meetings (held once a month on Zoom) and adding new ideas and opinions as we deal with a maturing membership. Please consider joining us! Contact Judy Prono (diprono@msn.com) for more information.

Hospitality Position Open

Nina Thayer who has been our hospitality chair will take on the Public Policy chair. Hence the hospitality chair position is open. Responsibilities are to coordinate the fall luncheon and the spring tea and to maintain hospitality supplies.

Nonfiction Book Group

The next meeting will be on July 8, 7pm; the book is The Daughters of Yalta by Catherine Grace Katz. Denise George will review and host. Reminders will be sent closer to the time of the event. If you wish to be added to the mailing list, please let Denise know (denisegeorge@icloud.com).

Book Group

The May book is The Woman with the Blue Star by Pam Jenoff. Maryjane Geisler will review at both meetings.

The May 6th, 7pm meeting will be hosted by Chris Sierk, 4640 Ridgeway, LA. Please let Chris know if you will attend (505-660-8620, acsierk@hotmail.com).

The 1pm, May 7th meeting will be held at Sherril Hall of the Trinity on the Hill Episcopal Church. Let Rozelle Wright know if you are coming (bandrwright@yahoo.com, 505-662-5490).

Great Decisions

This study group will resume next year. Sign up at the fall luncheon to join us for a series of discussions on Foreign Policy issues.

Out'n About

We are always looking for suggestions. Photos of our favorites from our last event:









AAUW Dues:

AAUW National Individual Membership dues are now \$72; National dues are tax deductible.

State dues are \$18

Branch are \$20

If you are a life member you will owe \$38.

Otherwise, the total is \$110.

Honorary Life Members (50 years members) are not required to pay national, state or branch dues.

You should have received an e-mail from National explaining how to pay electronically.

If you choose the electronic method, please e-mail Mary Ann Lindahl (moonbeamx@comcast.net) as she is joint treasurer/membership chair and will make sure that national has placed your name correctly in the national data base.

The other option is to take your check to the Spring Tea.

Make your check out to:

AAUW-Los Alamos Branch

If you forget your checkbook or cannot attend the tea, mail your check to:

AAUW-Los Alamos

P.O. Box 272

Los Alamos, NM 87544

AAUW-Los Alamos Scholarship at UNM-Los Alamos:

We hope the Branch will be able to offer a scholarship for the 2024-2025 academic year to a deserving woman who is returning to school after some years (that is, not a "just graduated from high school" woman) and who is enrolled at UNM-Los Alamos. We are asking branch members to make a tax-deductible donation by writing a check to:

University of New Mexico Foundation and noting in the memo line,

for AAUW-Los Alamos scholarship at UNM-LA.

Any checks donated at the Spring Tea or sent to the P.O. Box will be hand-delivered to the business manager at UNM-Los Alamos.

If you wish donate at a time other than the Spring Tea, please send a check written as instructed above and mail it to the Branch's P.O. Box 272 address.

May 2024

Calendar

May 7,8	Book Group
May 10	Branch Meeting- Spring Tea

Coordinating Council 2023-2024

Carroll Thomas	Co-Facilitator	505-662-7617	carrthom58@earthlink.net
Judy Prono	dy Prono Co-Facilitator/Public Policy		djprono@msn.com
Linda McLellan	Secretary	505-690-3939	lindamclellan@msn.com
Mary Ann Lindahl	Membership/Treasurer	505-660-2259	moonbeamx@comcast.net
Maryjane Giesler	University Representative	505-662-5574	mgiesler@unm.edu
Marilyn Doolen	Diversity, Equity, Inclusion/Historian	505-672-3571	mtdoolen@aol.com
Alahna Weller	Member at large	505-672-9539	acweller@comcast.net
Appointed positions			
Helena Whyte	STEM	505-690-7824	mozden08@aol.com
Nina Thayer	Hospitality/Pubic Policy	505-231-6312	gnthayer@cybermesa.com
Bev Cooper	Publicity	505-672-9696	bcooper@cybermesa.com
Denise George	Newsletter/WEB	505-690-3534	denisegeorge@icloud.com
Open	Nominating		